[News] The Roots Reveal 'undun' Tracklist, Sufjan Stevens Cameo

Philadelphia-based hip hop/soul group and Late Night with Jimmy Fallon house band The Roots recently announced their thirteenth studio album undun. Along with the announcement came the unveiling of the first single from the album, titled "Make My." The first single also showed us the first at the first guest artist on the album would be Mississipi rapper Big K.R.I.T. Now, courtesy of 2dopeboyz, we have the entirety of the albums tracklisting, which also reveals who the remainder of the guest artists are. Frequent collaborators Phonte, Dice Raw and P.O.R.N. will be making appearances on this album, but, in an interview with SPIN Magazine, ?uestlove revealed that none other than Sufjan Stevens would be contributing. Here's what he had to say about Mr. Stevens role:

“We’ve always loved the song ‘Redford’ from Michigan. So we close the new album with a cover of ‘Redford’. We stretched it out into this four-part movement. Part 1 is Sufjan at the piano performing it. And then Part 2 is a string quartet that we had interpret it. Part 3 is myself and D.D. Jackson, who is an avant-garde piano player. He's probably one of the most dangerous pianists — I don't know how he doesn't have carpal tunnel now. But he just destroys, literally, destroys the piano. The final movement, which ends the record, is essentially the beginning of the story. But it's the last thing you hear. It's a very powerful piece of work. Dare I say that undun is probably as good as it's going to get for the Roots."

undun is out on December 6th via Def Jame Records. You can check out the tracklisting for the album after the jump.

undun Tracklisting


  1. The Un
  2. Sleep
  3. Make My (feat. Big K.R.I.T.)
  4. One Time (feat. Phonte & Dice Raw)
  5. Kool On (feat. P.O.R.N.)
  6. The Other Side
  7. Stomp (feat. P.O.R.N.)
  8. Lighthouse
  9. I Remember
  10. Tip The Scale
  11. Redford (For Yia Yia & Pappou)
  12. Possibility
  13. Will To Power
  14. Finality