[News] Alex Turner To Release Solo Effort in March

Arctic Monkeys frontman Alex Turner is set to release his first ever solo effort in the coming months. It will accompany the film Submarine which hits cinemas on March 18th after being premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. Adapted from the novel by Joe Dunthorne it tells the tale of a young boy wanting to lose his virginity in order to prevent his mother leaving their family for a dance teacher. In other words a story about a kid with a pretty mixed up perception of the world around him. Directed by Richard Ayoade, who is known for his acting roles in TV shows like The IT Crowd and The Mighty Boosh here in the UK, it's not the first time he's worked with Alex as he previously did on the Arctic Monkeys' DVD At The Apollo back in 2008. 

Submarine will arrive digitally 14th of March in the UK. The album has been produced by Simian Mobile Disco member James Ford, who's also helping the Arctic Monkeys on their current recording too. Check out the track list for the piano backed, acoustic guitar filled album after the jump. As well as that check a nice interview with Ayoade too via CoS.


Submarine EP tracklisting:

'Stuck On The Puzzle (Intro)'
'Hiding Tonight'
'Glass In The Park'
'It’s Hard To Get Around The Wind'
'Stuck On The Puzzle'
'Piledriver Waltz'