[News] The Helio Sequence Announce New Album: 'Negotiations'

Following the release of their fourth studio album Keep Your Eyes Ahead back in 2008, Portland alt-rock duo The Helio Sequence hit the road in support of the release. While on tour in 2009, the pair received a call that their recording space had flooded with over a foot of water, although most of their equipment was safely stowed away in their tour van. The flood meant the band had to find a new recording space, and they landed on a 1500-square-foot cafeteria in an abandoned warehouse. The change in location proved to be more than just physical, as it gave the band a chance to change their approach to recording. Their latest album, titled Negotiations, is the result of this.

Recorded over the past year or so, Negotiations is "the loosest, and most free-form the duo has ever done," with a sound that the band describes as "warmer, more organic and more spacey/ethereal." The 11-track effort is set for release on September 11th via Sub Pop, and to give fans an introduction to the album the duo have released a promotional trailer featuring an unidentified song from the forthcoming studio effort. Check it out, along with the tracklisting for Negotiations, after the jump.

Negotiations Tracklist:
01. One More Time
02. October
03. Downward Spiral
04. The Measure
05. Hall of Mirrors
06. Harvester of Souls
07. Open Letter
08. When the Shadow Falls
09. Silence on Silence
10. December
11. Negotiations