[SKOA Presents] The 1975

I don't know if you've noticed, but it's 2013. Not only that but January is nearly over and time seems to be melting away unlike the bloody rubbish weather hitting the UK right now. I've celebrated my birthday, started the year in New York and now I'm sat at a desk in a very cold Manchester counting the days until the weekend. Normality has resumed and I am well and truly in need of things to look forward to. Step forward Manchester's The 1975. We've talked about the four-piece before with tracks such as "You" and "Sex", but  I think 2013 is the year we'll truly see them shine. Plus, it's always nice to have things to look forward to. 

So what do we have to look forward to from The 1975 this year I hear you cry? Plenty. That's what. The band have just announced a new EP, following up last year's Sex, and they've set its release for March 4th via the ever trusty Dirty Hit. Music For Cars (yeah, how good of an EP title is that!?) is bound to be a riot. Lead track "Chocolate" can be heard below and it sure is a sweet treat. If you've seen these guys live no doubt you'll know it already. The band are also planning a full-length release later in the year and have been busy co-producing it with the award-winning Mike Crossey (Arctic Monkeys, Foals). That's just the start.

In March they'll make a trip to Austin, Texas to perform some shows at the magical music pilgrimage known as SXSW and prior to that they've penned in even more UK dates. Yes, more UK dates! I think they'll need a fair few Now That's What I Call Music compilation discs for the tour bus and not just Music For Cars! Check out the dates below and keep your eyes well and truly peeled for more from these guys. We'll be sure to keep you in the loop. We'll be catching up with the band soon for a chat about what more you can expect from them in 2013. They'll be everywhere by the end of the year, and we'll be right there with 'em. 

The 1975 2013 Tour Dates 

Mon 28th Jan - Sheffield - Soyo 

Wed 30th Jan - Bristol - Exchange

Thu 31st Jan - Guildford - Boileroom 

Fri 1st Feb - Aldershot - West End Centre

Sat 2nd Feb - Birmingham - Temple 

Mon 4th Feb - Cambridge - Portland Arms

Tue 5th Feb - Exeter - Cavern 

Wed 6th Feb - Chelmsford - Hooga

Thu 7th Feb - Kingston - New Slang

Fri 8th Feb - Brighton - Green Door Store

Sat 9th Feb - Southampton - Lennons 

Mon 11th Feb - Liverpool - Shipping Forecast

Tue 12th Feb - Middlesbrough - Mixtape @ Keys

Wed 13th Feb - Nottingham - Bodega

Thu 14th Feb - Chester - The Compass

Fri 15th Feb - Preston - 53 Degrees

Sat 16th Feb - Manchester - Deaf Institute 10pm curfew

Mon 18th Feb - London - Borderline