Posts tagged Andre 3000
[News] André 3000 Clears Up Rumors of OutKast "Reunion"

Last week, Big Boi dropped a remix of Frank Ocean's "Pink Matter" that included a lengthy verse from the rapper. The obvious excitement stemming from the remix was the fact that the original song featured André 3000, spouting rumors of a possible OutKast reunion. Who wouldn't be excited about this prospect? Apparently André. Today, he issued a statement to SPIN, saying:

It’s important for me to be clear about the origins of my contributions to ‘Pink Matter’ and ‘Sorry.'

I was approached as a solo artist by both Frank Ocean & Tip. I discussed musical direction with each artist and completed my verses. It was after that when Big Boi’s name came up.

I never want to mislead our audience – I worried that some would think these were Outkast collaborations. These songs are not Outkast collaborations. I discussed this rationale with Big, Frank and T.I. and everyone agreed. That is why I was surprised to read about these remixes.

I understand that anyone can put out an unofficial remix to any song but I have an obligation to be honest with fans about what this is … and what it isn’t."

The statement fits with André's issues with featuring Big Boi on the commercial version of "Pink Matter". In a similar situation, Big Boi has mentioned a future remix of T.I.'s "Sorry", which also featured André. Big Boi has yet to comment on the statement, but, in the meantime, we can all enjoy the greatness of the "Pink Matter" remix. Stream it below.

[Listen] Frank Ocean feat. André 3000 & Big Boi - "Pink Matter" (Remix)

To be a highlight from Frank Ocean's already outstanding debut Channel Orange is an achievement in itself, but "Pink Matter", which features André 3000, has now become even better. Serving as an Outkast reunion of sorts, Big Boi drops his remix of the crooner's smooth beat, deftly blending his raps amongst the funky basslines and sultry guitar riffs. It feels good to hear Big Boi and André together again. Stream the cut below.

(via MissInfo)

[News] Frank Ocean Reveals Album Details, Official Artwork

Frank Ocean revealed last week that André 3000 will be featured on his forthcoming studio debut Channel Orange, and now more details regarding the album have emerged. The official tracklist for Channel Orange has been made available, and it shows that also featured on the album are fellow OFWGKTA member Earl Sweatshirt and John Mayer. After the jump, you can check out the full tracklisting for the album, with the official artwork pictured above.

Channel Orange Tracklist:
01. Start
02. Thinkin Bout You
03. Fertilizer
04. Sierra Leone
05. Sweet Life
06. Not Just Money
07. Super Rich Kids (feat. Earl Sweatshirt)
08. Pilot Jones
09. Crack Rock
10. Pyramids
11. Lost
12. White (feat. John Mayer)
13. Monks
14. Bad Religion
15. Pink Matter (feat. André 3000)
16. Forrest Gump
17. End

[News] André 3000 to Appear on Frank Ocean's 'Channel Orange'

Frank Ocean's upcoming major lable debut Channel Orange has been a long time coming, but now it's set for a July 17th release date and who knows how many people are eagerly waiting for that day to arrive. Well now there's even more reason to anticipate that day, as The Boombox reports that none other than André 3000 is contributing a verse to Ocean's track "Pleasure." For those out there who have been clammering for some new OutKast material, myself included, then this just might be the best we'll get from the André side of things for the time being.

Ocean also premiered Channel Orange at a listening party last night in New York City, and The Boombox has revealed that previously released tracks such as "Forrest Gump," "Pyramids," "Voodoo," as well as a reworked version of "Thinking About You" will be included on the forthcoming release.

[Watch] Gorillaz x Andre 3000 x James Murphy - "DoYaThing" (Official Video)

After unleashing the ridiculously fresh sounding "DoYaThing" last week we now get the official visuals for the collaboration track between Gorillaz, Andre 3000 and James Murphy. The video sees some very nice looking CGI like Gorillaz members going about their business in their house. Murdoch looks particularly rough as he uses a chair lift to go down the stairs! Andre also appears to be having his sweat collected by staff and  some other weird and wonderful little details. To be honest it's every bit as awesome as you'd expect for the track so stop reading and start watching. Peep it at the top via Converse.

[Listen] Gorillaz feat. André 3000 and James Murphy – “DoYaThing”

"DoYaThing," the collaborative track for Converse featuring the talents of Gorillaz mastermind Damon Albarn, LCD Soundsystem frontman James Murphy and OutKast's André 3000, premiered this afternoon on BBC Radio 1, and below, courtesy of Listen Before You Buy, you can stream the song in its entirety.

Starting tomorrow, the song, which is the latest installment in Converse's "Three Artists. One Song." project, will be available to download via the official Converse website, and a forthcoming music video for the song is in the works, with Gorillaz's Jamie Hewlett at the helm.

[News] Gorillaz Team Up With Andre 3000 and James Murphy For New Track

At the start of the month Murdoch of Gorillaz released a statement talking of a new track for Converse's 'Three Artists, One Song' series and that the group would release something that'd "knock everything else Gorillaz have done out of the park." It also mentioned that the track would have two mystery guests but until now it's been all speculation. The band has just announced that the track will feature Andre 3000 and James Murphy! It was revealed this morning, through a tweet from Murdoc Niccals' Twitter page that read: "Oh is that?….YES! It is..It’s… Andre ‘Outkast’ 3000 and James Murphy. Mr. LCD Soundsystem. Alongside Gorillaz! Wow! What a line-up!" It's looking like the track will be available on the 23rd of Feb over on Excited?

UPDATE: We've thrown in Murdoc's annoncement earlier. Enjoy!

[Listen] Beyonce - "Party" Feat. Andre 3000 (Prod. By Kanye West & Consequence)

Here's a new one off Beyonce's upcoming album 4 titled "Party" featuring none other than OutKast's Andre 3000 and produced by Kanyeezy and Consequence. I'm not a big fan of B, but when you are bringing collaborations like Kanye, 3Stacks, Diplo, Jay-Z and hopefully Sleigh Bells its definitely worth a listen. Someone find Andre so we can get another solo album or OutKast album 4 hits shelves on 6/28. Shouts to 2DopeBoyz for this one.