Posts tagged Blockhead
[SKOA Presents] Beats For Daze #1

Sup everyone! Your friendly neighborhood Rocko here bringing you a new project that I've been working on for the past week or so while I was gearing up to head to the bay area this week. So lemme give you a little back story, as i've been working on the Some Kind of Mixtape series with the rest of the awesome crew here at SKoA and getting super obsessed with compiling artist/producer playlist on Spotify (username: somekindofrocko. I know cheap plug.) I wanted to do something of the sort for the readers of SKoA that wasn't just contributing a few new tracks every month. So I hit up The Kibbs aka Kibbe and said, "YO I GOT DIS PROJEKT I WANT TO DROP FOR ALL THE FLY HUNNIES OUT DER" cuz I talk like that and she was like "That sounds like a super awesome idea", in her best Rock Mama voice. Note: this was all done over AIM so i'm just making shit up. But anyways after a few days of tinkering, coming up with art designs and shit, the series Beats For Daze was born.

Much like the fashion of the SKoA monthly mixture, I (and hopefully some awesome guests) will be dropping a mixtape roughly around the middle of each month of some of my favorite headnodding tracks, some classic, some freshly off the grill. So without further ado, hear is the first installment in the Beats For Daze series. I originally tried mixing the tracks together like an actual DJ session but didn't hit the expectation I was looking for. See: FAILURE. But I hope you guys enjoy listening to it as much as I enjoyed compiling it together and I hope you also discover some new artists that you haven't heard before and go out and support their shit. Because without support, how are they supposed to make more dope shit? Sell drugs? Maybe.

So on this month's installment we got classic tracks from The Budos Band, Dan The Automator's Lovage, RJD2 and pre rave/mainstream Calvin Harris and for the new shit we got tracks from recently released albums by Blockhead, Flea, Alchemist, Jeremiah Jae produced by Flying Lotus, Vacationer (thanks whoever put me on to them in a session) Dark Time Sunshine and more with the addition of some unreleased tracks. So click on the artwork above to kick this session off. BTW keep a close eye on the artwork as it will change monthly and has some nice little easter egg type shit in it for video game/comics/entertainment and music lovers alike. Enjoy!

[Listen] Blockhead - "Never Forget Your Token"

Although he may not be featured as a producer on Aesop Rock's upcoming album Skelethon, long time Aesop Rock producer Blockhead is back with a new LP of his own titled Interludes After Midnight. The follow up from 2010's instrumental album, The Music Scene is set to be released on April 30th in Europe and May 1st in the US via Ninja Tune Records. Check out the album's tracklist below as well as the lead cut "Never Forget Your Token" from the upcoming album, which provides that wonderful downtempo sound that Blockhead is well known and loved for.

You can also head over to Blockhead's blog to hear more music from the upcoming album. Pre-order your copy of the album digitally (iTunes, Amazon) or pre-order the vinyl and bonus 7” here.

01 – Never Forget Your Token
02 – Creeps Crouchin’
03 – Panic In Funkytown
04 – Hungover Like Whoa
05 – Meet You At Tower Records
06 – Escape The Meadow
07 – Smoke Signals
08 – Tools Of The Industry
09 – Midnight Blue
10 – Snapping Point
11 – Beyond Reach Feat. Baby Dayliner
12 – The Robin Byrd Era

Aesop Rock Announces LP #6 'Skelethon" To Release This July On Rhymesayers

Acerizzle aka Aesop Rock (not to be confused with A$AP Rocky) announced today that his 6th solo album Skelethon will be released on July 10th via indie hip hop giant, Rhymesayers. Skelethon marks the first solo LP in five years since Aesop's last album None Shall Pass was released in 07. The album features guest spots from Ace's Hail Mary Mallon Co-horts Rob Sonic & DJ Big Wiz, as well as wifey Allyson Baker of Dirty Ghosts, Hanni El Khatib, Grimace Federation, Nicky Fleming-Yaryan and his Uncluded partner in crime Kimya Dawson. The new album is 100% produced by Aesop Rock which is awesome as Aesop is coming into his own as a producer, but at the same time sad as we won't hear Aesop spit over any El-P or Blockhead beats this time around. Check out the album's full tracklist below.

1. Leisureforce
2. ZZZ Top
3. Cycles To Gehenna
4. Zero Dark Thirty
5. Fryerstarter
6. Ruby '81
7. Crows 1
8. Crows 2
9. Racing Stripes
10. 1,000 O'Clock
11. Homemade Mummy
12. Grace
13. Saturn Missiles
14. Tetra
15. Gopher Guts

It may be a minute before we get our first taste of Skelethon but this April we will get our first taste of Aesop's upcoming collaboration with singer/songwriter Kimya Dawson, The Uncluded, with Rhymesayers upcoming Record Store Day 2012 Picture Disc. The split 10"vinyl will feature brand new, exclusive and unreleased tracks from Atmosphere called "Someday Soon" and The Uncluded (Aesop Rock x Kimya Dawson) titled "Bats". This release RSD release is a limited run with only 2000 copies, so make sure you get your hands on one. Check out more music from Aesop Rock and Kimya Dawson from last year's Daytrotter Session.

[Listen] Rival Schools - "69 Guns" (Blockhead Remix)

More remixes are starting to trickle in after Ad Rock of the Beasties laid down this dancetastic little re-working. Now it's L.E.S. beatmaker extraordinaire Blockhead's turn to give us a different spin on Rival Schools' hit track, "69 Guns".

Fun fact, Rival Schools' drummer Sammy Siegler and Blockhead went to the same grade school and have been playing basketball together for quite awhile now. It was there that the idea for a remix was born. Interestingly enough, that's how the Ad Rock remix came to pass as well.

As of today, there will be a remix EP featuring this remix, Ad Rock's and one from Daryl Palumbo of Glassjaw.