Posts tagged De La Soul
[Watch] De La Soul - "Get Away" Feat. The Spirit of the Wu

The legends known as De La Soul have returned with a brand new track titled "Get Away" which features The Spirit of the Wu. Being a comeback single they let us know they mean business straight off the bat and the video is an entertaining retro throwback inspired piece too. Get your Rubiks Cube on above via Rolling Stone.

Look out for more tracks from the forthcoming album You're Welcome in the coming months.

[Watch] De La Soul's Plug 1 & Plug 2 Present First Serve - "We Made It" (Official video)

Remember a few weeks ago we got introduced to a brand new project from two of the three founding members of De La Soul ,Dave Jolicoeur and Kelvin Mercer. They'd just launched First Serve and renamed themselves Plug 1 and Plug 2, naturally. Today you can check out another skit from the pair titled "We Made It" and if you missed the first one, "Mrs. Whitter, it's over here. The pair are preparing to release an album in the not too distant future in April but to give people a taste they've let loose The Goon Time Mixtape which is up for grabs on their SoundCloud. Their lead track "Pushin' Aside, Pushin' Along" is available to enjoy below too. Excited?

De La Soul's Plug 1 & Plug 2 present First Serve - Pushin' Aside, Pushin' Along by FIRST SERVE

[News] De La Soul Members Launch Side Project... First Serve

Two of the three founding member of De La Soul ,Dave Jolicoeur and Kelvin Mercer, have teamed up to launch a new project both under new nicknames, naturally. Plug 1 and Plug 2 or Jacob "Pop Life" Barrow and Deen Whittier depending what takes your fancy. you can call them come together to create the group, First Serve. Tennis fans maybe?  The pair are preparing to release an album come April but to give people a taste they've let loose The Goon Time Mixtape. You can grab it for free over on their SoundCloud. As well as that you can stream a track from the debut LP titled "Pushin' Aside, Pushin' Along" below. A lot to take in isn't it. Give it time to marinate as these tracks are sounding pretty darn good. 

De La Soul's Plug 1 & Plug 2 present First Serve - Pushin' Aside, Pushin' Along by FIRST SERVE

ReviewsSheyDe La Soul
[Listen] DJ Shadow - "Stay The Course" Feat. Posdnuos (of De La Soul) & Talib Kweli

On September 27th, DJ/Producer Josh Davis bka DJ Shadow makes his triumphant return with his upcoming fourth record The Less You Know, The Better. which will feature collaborations from Talib Kweli, De La Soul's Posdnuos, Little Dragon, Afrikan Boy, and Tom Vek. We got our first taste of the new record with the track "I've Been Trying" which was released alongside the non-album cut "Def Surrounds Us" and both were later released on the EP for the album's official first single, the beat heavy "I Gotta Rokk".

Shadow later revealed his next single from the new album, the afropunk, electronic jam "I'm Excited" featuring Afrikan Boy which was later released as an EP in the UK which included 3 additional B-Sides including the UNKLE-ish track "Come On Riding (Through The Cosmos)." Earlier today, Shadow premiered another new album cut when he guested on the Andy Rourke's Jetlag show on East Village Radio titled "Stay The Course" which featured Plug One aka Posdnuos of De La Soul and Talib Kweli. If you missed out on the broadcast and are lazy to sift through the archives on the EVR site, you can check out the new tune in the player below.

Check out the album's full tracklisting after the jump as well as Shadow's recent interview with Pitchfork here. Also, make sure you check out Shadow on his latest tour, which still has a few US dates left before he heads back overseas to Europe, Thailand, China and Japan. Tour dates are available here and hell, maybe if you are lucky you can get your hands on one of these goodies that Shadow gave out to fans who order tickets to his special show in Melbourne, Australia last month. Bastards.

Anyways, enjoy the new track. We certainly are, as well as the other album tracks that have surfaced thus far. Shadow's back.

1. Back To Front (Circular Logic)
2. Border Crossing
3. Stay The Course 
4. I've Been Trying Feat. Posdnuos (of De La Soul) & Talib Kweli
5. Sad And Lonely
6. Warning Call Feat. Tom Vek
7. Tedium
8. Enemy Lines
9. Going Nowhere
10. Redeemed
11. Run For Your Life
12. Give Me Back The Nights
13. I'm Excited Feat. Afrikan Boy
14. I Gotta Rokk
15. Scale It Back Feat. Yukimi Nagano (of Little Dragon)
16. Circular Logic (Front To Back)
17. (Not So) Sad And Lonely
[Watch] Gorillaz Perform At Glastonbury 2010 With Snoop Dogg, Lou Reed, De La Soul, Bobby Womack And More

The first night of Glastonbury's headliners were Damon Albarn’s virtual band Gorillaz who were replacing U2 this year due to singer Bono suffering a back injury and having to go through surgery last month, which cause their cancellation.

The All-Star cast featured The Clash's guitarist and bassist Mick Jones and Paul Simonon, with guest appearances from De La Soul, Bobby Womack, The Fall’s Mark E Smith, Bootie Brown of The Pharcyde, Bashy and Kano, Lou Reed, Shaun Ryder, Little Dragon's Yukimi Nagano and Big Snoop Dogg who fans believed to be a no show since he did not physically guest on the song "Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach." 

However, Snoop is not known for one to disappoint and appeared during the last song of the night, performing the rap on "Clint Eastwood" with the lyrics his hit ’Drop It Like It’s Hot’ over the song. Best moment of the show was the performance of "Fire Coming Out Of A Monkey's Head" which paid tribute to the late great Dennis Hopper. Check out the full performance of the show above. 

UPDATE: Full stream is up! Shouts to pixdadablu! Check the Setlist after the jump.

1. Orchestra Intro
2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (Feat. Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. Last Living Souls
4. O Green World
5. Kids With Guns
6. Stylo (Feat. Bootie Brown of Pharcyde and Bobby Womack)
7. On Melancholy Hill
8. Rhinestone Eyes
9. Broken (Feat. Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
10. Empire Ants (Feat. Yukimi Nagano of Little Dragon)
11. Dirty Harry (Feat. Bootie Brown of Pharcyde)
12. White Flag (Feat. Kano and Bashy)
13. Superfast Jellyfish (Feat. De La Soul)
14. Dare (Feat. Shaun Ryder)
15. Glitter Freeze (Feat. Mark E. Smith)
16. Some Kind Of Nature (Feat. Lou Reed)
17. El Mañana
18. Cloud Of Unknowing (Feat. Bobby Womack)
19. Pirate Jet
20. To Binge (Feat. Yukimi Nagano of Little Dragon)
21. Fire Coming Out Of A Monkey's Head
22 Feel Good Inc (Feat. De La Soul)
23. Clint Eastwood (Feat. Snoop Dogg)

[Watch] More Videos of Gorillaz' Performance on Jools Holland show and Interview

Gorillaz Unofficial updates us with more videos from Gorillaz' latest performance on Later... LIVE with Jools Holland. Check out the video of "Superfast Jellyfish" with De La Soul and Gruff Rhys above and the interview with Damon and Jamie before the jump. Then catch some more performances of the songs, "To Binge" with Little Dragon and "Melancholy Hill", off their latest album Plastic Beach. If you havent caught the first two videos of the performance for "Stylo" and "White Flag" you can check them out here. This is a nice gift for those that missed Coachella. Enjoy!

Damon and Jamie interview

"To Binge"

"Melancholy Hill"

[Download] Gorillaz - Superfast Jellyfish (Feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)

If you aren't up to speed yet. Gorillaz just let a leak of their new track "Superfast Jellyfish" on YouTube. So since the track has officially been leaked, we thought we drop a line to you readers and possibly provide a download for the song ;). Check out this lava banger straight featuring Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals and De La Soul, off the upcoming album Plastic Beach dropping in 2 weeks!

Gorillaz - Superfast Jellyfish (Feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)