Posts tagged Sufjan Stevens
[SONG OF THE DAY] Smoota - "That Body Of Yours"

Okay we need to have a discussion about musicians being held accountable releasing crazy sexy jams during Scorpio season. It’s like with every passing day I’m trying to not be all hot and bothered in a coffee shop writing up most of the songs in the past week. Is there some coitus-coaxing conspiracy amongst musicians right now that I don’t know about? jfc.

Today I’m trying to not make eye contact with anyone because New York based sex panther Smoota’s latest single “That Body Of Yours” is making me want to sneak off to the bathroom with the next cappuccino-sipping cutie that walks through the door. The sensual single comes from his forthcoming sophomore album, Pheromones, which drops this Friday (November 2nd). “That Body Of Yours” follows previously released singles, “Ballbuster”, a love song using S&M imagery and the double entendre of the word ballbuster, and title track, “Pheromones”, a playful fantasy about using our biological pheromones to attract a partner inspired by a friend who sells human sex pheromones online.

If you weren’t already sold on Smoota’s sensual 70s groove aesthetic, the video for “That Body Of Yours” should throw you over the edge. Always the clever one, Smoota re-edited a very obscure Japanese film from the 50s into a new story with new subtitles about himself in post-war Tokyo and his relationship with one of the performers at a Casablanca-style exotic nightclub. As he noted about the video, “The imagery from the film is gorgeous and features an ultra-sensual dance routine to my trombone solo on the song. The new story is funny and over-the-top and even features my appearance in the old footage through some studio trickery.” Of course he played the trombone solo. Of fucking course. 💦

If Smoota’s face looks familiar, it’s because he’s a super in-demand musician in New York. You may have seen him on tour with TV On The Radio, who he performed with for several years. He’s also recorded and performed with a slew of other acts such as: Run The Jewels, Steven Tyler, Pretty Lights, Sufjan Stevens, Aaron Neville, and the late Sharon Jones. Currently, Smoota is in the house band on ABC’s The Gong Show, hosted by Mike Myers.

If you happen to be in NYC you can catch Smoota with me at Union Pool in Brooklyn along with William Butler, Superhuman Happiness, and Hearing Things. I normally end up making out with someone at Union Pool, so it only seems appropriate that my first time seeing Smoota will be there. If you’re not in NYC, don’t fret! You’ve still got a chance for Smoota to get you wet on his North American tour that kicks off on Friday. Full dates after over on his website.

[Watch] Sufjan Stevens - "I'll Be Home For Christmas" (Video)

Sufjan Stevens is giving us all an early gift from Santa today with a video for "I'll Be Home For Christmas" which features on his huge Christmas collection Silver & Gold: Songs for Christmas Volumes 6-10. It's a monsterous compilation which is out now via Asthmatic Kitty. I'm completely over being a grinch now and the lights in Manchester *kind of* put me in half a good mood on a daily basis. I'm also pretty excited to get my drink on with some mulled wine once the market opens, so let's keep the good vibes flowing with this video. Hit play on it above and join me in the festive spirit. 

ReviewsSheySufjan Stevens
[Listen] Sufjan Stevens and Rosie Thomas - "Where Were You?"

On Record Store Day, Sufjan Stevens will be releasing a split 7" single with friend and frequent collaborator Rose Thomas, with a reimagined version of "Where Were You?" acting as the a-side and "Here I Am!" as the b-side. "Where Were You?" was included on Thomas' recently released album With Love, and "Here I Am!" is Sufjan's answer to that question. Both songs were recorded and mixed by Mr. Stevens, who, as is evident from this song and his recent s / s / s collaboration, seems to be really into auto-tune as of late. Check out the reimagined version of "Where Were You?" below.

[News] The Roots Reveal 'undun' Tracklist, Sufjan Stevens Cameo

Philadelphia-based hip hop/soul group and Late Night with Jimmy Fallon house band The Roots recently announced their thirteenth studio album undun. Along with the announcement came the unveiling of the first single from the album, titled "Make My." The first single also showed us the first at the first guest artist on the album would be Mississipi rapper Big K.R.I.T. Now, courtesy of 2dopeboyz, we have the entirety of the albums tracklisting, which also reveals who the remainder of the guest artists are. Frequent collaborators Phonte, Dice Raw and P.O.R.N. will be making appearances on this album, but, in an interview with SPIN Magazine, ?uestlove revealed that none other than Sufjan Stevens would be contributing. Here's what he had to say about Mr. Stevens role:

“We’ve always loved the song ‘Redford’ from Michigan. So we close the new album with a cover of ‘Redford’. We stretched it out into this four-part movement. Part 1 is Sufjan at the piano performing it. And then Part 2 is a string quartet that we had interpret it. Part 3 is myself and D.D. Jackson, who is an avant-garde piano player. He's probably one of the most dangerous pianists — I don't know how he doesn't have carpal tunnel now. But he just destroys, literally, destroys the piano. The final movement, which ends the record, is essentially the beginning of the story. But it's the last thing you hear. It's a very powerful piece of work. Dare I say that undun is probably as good as it's going to get for the Roots."

undun is out on December 6th via Def Jame Records. You can check out the tracklisting for the album after the jump.

undun Tracklisting


  1. The Un
  2. Sleep
  3. Make My (feat. Big K.R.I.T.)
  4. One Time (feat. Phonte & Dice Raw)
  5. Kool On (feat. P.O.R.N.)
  6. The Other Side
  7. Stomp (feat. P.O.R.N.)
  8. Lighthouse
  9. I Remember
  10. Tip The Scale
  11. Redford (For Yia Yia & Pappou)
  12. Possibility
  13. Will To Power
  14. Finality


[Listen] Sufjan Stevens - "Silent Night" x "Bacarola (You Must Be a Christmas Tree)”

It's Christmas in 5 days which seems inasne to be saying but it's true! You can't escape it. Now every year Sufjan Stevens puts out a few Christmas tracks and this year they were debuted by The National’s Aaron and Bryce Dessner on a recent takeover of BBC 6 Mix. They introduced a rendition of "Silent Night" along with an originl composition in the form of "Barcarola (You Must Be A Christmas Tree)". It features the National's duo as well as Arcade Fire’s Richard Parry (who also participated in the BBC Mix).

Said about the recordings; “Sufjan Stevens makes a Christmas album every year for his friends…and this was a few years ago. Richie happened to be in town and he happened to have his big, beautiful, upright bass and we recorded ‘Silent Night”… and it kind of made us all love this song again.” Enjoy the tracks below in full. Anyone else getting very nervous about getting all of their shopping done in time?! Go thank CoS for the heads up.

Sufjan Stevens - Silent Night by Some Kind of Awesome

Sufjan Stevens - Barcarola by Some Kind of Awesome

ReviewsSheySufjan Stevens
[Watch] Sufjan Stevens - "Too Much" (Video)

On Friday we got to see Sufjan get all taped up for Jimmy Fallon and a performance of “Too Much”. And now, today we get to see the official video for “Too Much.” How lucky we are! His latest album The Age of Adz is out now so go pick it up if you like what you're seeing and hearing above. If you missed his TV debut on Jimmy Fallon then head over in this direction for some more visual goodies. Thanks to Pitchfork for this.

ReviewsSheySufjan Stevens