Posts tagged Surfer Blood
[SKOA Presents] We Found Sasquatch! Mixtape

The drive to Sasquatch! is a lengthy trip for most of the attendees, and what better time to get familiar with the bands you'll be seeing at the festival? That's where we come in. We've plucked 36 artists from the festival lineup and chosen a song by each, resulting in two-and-a-half hours of fantastic music. This is SKOA's essential Sasquatch! mix. This is the We Found Sasquatch! Mixtape.

The mixtape features plenty of amazing talent, including Vampire Weekend, Disclosure, Tame Impala, Alt-J, Surfer Blood, Dirty Projectors, Father John Misty, Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros, Bloc Party, Empire of the Sun, Toro Y Moi, Holy Ghost!, The xx, El-P, P.O.S, CHVRCHES and more. For your convenience, the mixtape is available to stream below via 8tracks, or you can download all 36 songs in one, two, three parts. Check it out and hopfully it makes the journey to Sasquatch! a little bit easier. The full tracklisting is after the jump.

SKOA presents We Found Sasquatch! Mixtape from skoablog on 8tracks Radio.


We Found Sasquatch! Mixtape Tracklist:

  1. CHVRCHES – “Recover”
  2. Odesza – “How Did I Get Here”
  3. Baths – “Aminals”
  4. DIIV – “Past Lives”
  5. Surfer Blood – “Take It Easy”
  6. John Talabot – “When The Past Was Present”
  7. Toro Y Moi – “Rose Quartz”
  8. Holy Ghost! – “Dumb Disco Ideas"
  9. Youth Lagoon – “Dropla”
  10. Azari & III – “Into The Night”
  11. Kid Cudi – “Pursuit of Happiness” (Steve Aoki Remix)
  12. The Postal Service – “Clark Gable”
  13. Vampire Weekend – “Hannah Hunt”
  14. Sigur Rós – “Varúð”
  15. The xx – “Swept Away”
  16. Arctic Monkeys – “R U Mine?”
  17. Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros – “Man On Fire”
  18. Empire of the Sun – “Alive”
  19. Bloc Party – “Octopus”
  20. Andrew Bird – “Eyeoneye”
  21. Grimes – “Oblivion”
  22. Alt-J – “Matilda”
  23. Disclosure – “You & Me” feat. Eliza Doolittle
  24. Tame Impala – “Feels Like We Only Go Backwards"
  25. Father John Misty – “Nancy From Now On”
  26. Danny Brown – “Grown Up”
  27. Earl Sweatshirt – “Chum”
  28. P.O.S – “Wanted/Wasted” feat. Astronautalis
  29. Death Grips – “I’ve Seen Footage”
  30. El-P – “The Full Retard”
  31. Twin Shadow – “Five Seconds”
  32. Dirty Projectors – “Dance For You”
  33. Japandroids – “The House That Heaven Built"
  34. Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – “Garden”
  35. The Presets – “Fall”
  36. Porcelain Raft – “Unless You Speak From Your Heart”
[Listen] Surfer Blood - "Demon Dance"

I'll admit, I wasn't as hot on Surfer Blood's latest single "Weird Shapes" as I wanted to be. Their debut album Astro Coast was excellent, a brash surf-rock record that I enjoyed every minute of. "Weird Shapes" just didn't hit the benchmark for me. It wasn't as carefree or reckless as Astro Coast. Interesting then that the band described it as "one of the most dynamic songs we've ever written".

"Demon Dance", the band's second single from their upcoming sophomore LP Pythons, embraces the same poppy veneer as "Weird Shapes", but in this case it seems to work quite well. The pop sheen is met with a barrage of fuzzy guitars, distorted vocals, and a quickened pace. Surfer Blood have got my attention again.

Pythons is out on June 11th through Warner Bros. Records.

[News] Surfer Blood Announces New Album, Drops Lead Single

Surfer Blood will follow up their debut album Astro Coast with a new LP set for release this summer. For a fresh taste of the sophomore effort, entitled Pythons, the band is streaming "Weird Shapes," the first single from the album. Frontman JP Pitts describes the song as "a left of center pop song about someone who is about to go through a manic episode." Continuing, he says, "[i]t's one of the most dynamic songs we've ever written."

After a couple of listens, the song is starting to grow on me. It's got a much cleaner sound then previous Surfer Blood releases, which works well, but my major issue is the real lack of the band's signature surf rock vibe. It seems a bit wasteful for them to toss aside a style that worked so well on their debut (not to mention it's in their name), but I'll hold back full judgment until they release more songs. For now, you can stream "Weird Shapes" below.

News, ReviewsAdrianSurfer Blood
[Watch] Surfer Blood - "Miranda" Live on Fallon

Last night the late night TV entertainment kept coming with a few note worthy performances. First up we have Surfer Blood who returned to the screens of many homes via Jimmy Fallon with a performance of "Miranda" taken from last year’s EP Tarot Classics. For all of you longing for more material from these guys J-Fal states that they’re currently working on a major label debut, so cut 'em some slack. You don't want to rush these things. For now, enjoy their performance at the top of the page courtesy of The Audio Perv.

[News] Surfer Blood to Play Fallon This Monday Night, Announce West Coast Tour Dates

This coming Monday, January 9th, West Palm Beach rockers Surfer Blood will be making the debut appearance on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, where they will perform their newest single "Miranda" from their recently released Tarot Classics EP. Along with this announcement, the band announced a five-show series of West Coast tour dates. Starting on February 21st in San Diego, CA, the short California tour will take the band to Santa Ana, Santa Barbara, Visalia, and finally San Francisco on February 25th. You can check out all the of the tour details, including dates and locations, after the jump.

As well, Surfer Blood is currently in the studio working on their highly anticipated sophomore album with the help of Phil Ek, who has worked with the likes of Fleet Foxes and Built To Spill. The album is expected to drop later this year via Kanine/Warner Bros. Records.

Surfer Blood West Coast Tour Dates:

01/08 – University Of North Florida – Jacksonville, FL
02/21 – Porter’s Pub – San Diego, CA
02/22 – Constellation Room – Santa Ana, CA
02/23 – Velvet Jones – Santa Barbara, CA
02/24 – Visalia Fox Theatre – Visalia, CA
02/25 – The Independent – San Francisco, CA

[Listen] Surfer Blood - "Miranda"

On October 25th, Surfer Blood will be releasing the Tarot Classics EP, their follow-up to their debut album Astro Coast. The EP will include four tracks, one of which is the song "Miranda." The band has released the song on their official SoundCloud page, so you can give the song a listen below. As well, the band is currently on tour, so check after the jump to see if they are playing near you.

Miranda by Surfer Blood by kaninerecords

Surfer Blood 2011 Tour Dates:
09/21 – Tampa, FL @ Crowbar
09/22 – Gainsville, FL @ Double Down Live
10/27 – Montclair, NJ @ Wellmont Theatre *
10/28 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Park Convention Hall *
10/29 – Waterbury, CT @ Palace Theatre *
10/30 – Hampton Beach, NH @ Hampton Beach Ballroom *
11/01 – Portland, ME @ State Theatre *
11/02 – Rochester, NY @ The Armory *
11/03 – Easton, PA @ State Theatre Center *
11/05 – Huntington, NY @ Paramount Theatre *
11/06 – Wilmington, DE @ Grand Opera House *
11/08 – Greensboro, NC @ War Memorial Auditorium *
11/09 – Louisville, KY @ Louisville, KY @ Palace Theatre *
11/10 – Knoxville, TN @ Tennessee Theatre *
11/11 – Charleston, SC @ North Charleston Performing Arts Center *
12/09 – Minehead, UK @ ATP’s Nightmare Before Christmas

* = w/ Pixies


ReviewsAdrianSurfer Blood
[Listen] Surfer Blood - "Miranda" (Alternative Version)

Check out a non album version of Surfer Blood's track "Miranda" courtesy of the cool people at Rolling Stone. This version of "Miranda" was produced by the Raveonettes’ Sune Rose Wagner. The bands new album Tarot Classics is set for release next week on September 20th and you can pre-order it over here. The track can be heard after the jump but as a word of warning it auto-plays just in case you have headphones in and turned up loud!


ReviewsSheySurfer Blood