Entries in Darwin Deez (23)


[Album Stream] Darwin Deez - 'Songs For Imaginative People'

Darwin Deez, applying the most subtle of tactics, has snuck up nearly out of nowhere (save for an album announcement last November) with his sophomore album Songs For Imaginative People. With the LP set to release next Tuesday, the Darwin-led outfit is giving us the chance to stream the whole thing prior to its release. Listen to all ten tracks from the "rockier and wordier" album below, and hit the jump to read a track-by-track guide written by Darwin Deez himself.

Songs For Imaginative People is out on February 12th.

(via NME)

Click to read more ...


[Listen] Darwin Deez - "Free (The Editorial Me)" (Official Video)

That feel good music of Darwin Deez is back today with a fuzzy bang. Following the announcement of his new single last week tonight, Zane Lowe on Radio One, had the pleasure of debuting "Free (Editorial Me)" and shortly after Deez himself took to the web to unleash the video. It shows him having a little (a lot) of déjà vu in his job at a store of sorts. We've all surely had this feeling in our daily jobs so it's an entertaining watch I only wish some days I could break free like this. The heavy bass-line also kind of reminds me of Scott Pilgrim vs. The World a little too...

Songs For Imaginative People set for release next year on the 11th of February.


[News] Darwin Deez Announces New Album: 'Songs For Imaginative People'

Remember Darwin Deez? Of course you do. Well he's just announced a follow up to his self titled with Songs For Imaginative People set for release next February on the 11th. Prior to that he'll release a track titled "Free (The Editorial Me)" next week before his shows at London XOYO on Nov. 28th.

Peep the artwork above and the track listing below. Apparently the album is "a bit of a departure. It’s definitely rockier and wordier. It’s really cool - some of the same things which made the first album great are in this record." I for one am pretty excited to hear it.

Songs For Imaginative People

1. (800) HUMAN

2. You Can't Be My Girl

3. Moonlit

4. No Love

5. Good to Lose

6. Alice

7. Redshift

8. Free (The Editorial Me)

9. All In the Wrist

10. Chelsea's Hotel


[News] Darwin Deez Announces Brief U.S./EU Tour

It has been quite a long time since we've heard from SKoA favorite Darwin Deez, whose self-titled debut album made it into our top 10 favorite albums of 2010, but the New York indie outfit is back! The band has been hard at work on their sophomore LP in Asheville, NC for the better part of this year, and they are asking fans to join them as they rediscover themselves as a band with a slew of tour dates. Starting on November 8th, the brief U.S. tour will see them visiting eight cities over the course of nine days, followed by solo dates in London, Paris, and Berlin. Check out the full tour schedule after the jump, and stay tuned for more from Darwin Deez in the coming weeks!

Click to read more ...


[Listen] Alex Winston - "Velvet Elvis" (Darwin Deez Kill The Bitch Edit)

When Darwin Deez launched his Wonky Beats mixtape I was impressed to hear the hapy go lucky pop making dude had gone all crude and was rapping about all kinds of crazy topics. Disco Naivete has now pointed me towards a new jam he's reworked Alex Winston’s track "Velvet Elvis" and rapped his guts out all over the place. A great listen for the old Humpday. The weekend is on the horizon. Stay strong!


[Download] Darwin Deez - "Radar Detector" (The Loving Hand Remix)

A nice feel good track for your Friday Morning/Afternoon depending on your location in the world. He has funky hair and certainly knows how to throw some shapes in synchronisation with his band mates, it's Darwin Deez. Today courtesy of RCRD LBL you can check out a remix from The Loving Hand of his possibly most notable track, "Radar Detector". A good one for those nights sat around with friends with a brew or two and some over cooked meat on the BBQ. Delicious.


[Watch] Darwin Deez - "Lights On" (Home Video)

That loveable, curly haired beat maker and unusual guitar stringed player Darwin Deez has posted up a cool video of the track "Lights On" which features a video of them performing at T In The Park last summer. To be precise it shows a sped up clip of their set from the point of view of centre stage behind the drum kit. It's a nice insight to see what it looks like for a band who are loved on the festival circuit and you also get to see some of the guys' crazy dance routines in uber sped up mode! Check it out above.


[Watch] Darwin Deez - "Bad Day" Live at Break Thru Radio

Just the other day we posted up the brilliant mixtape from Darwin Deez which was titled Wonky Beats. It couldn't of been easier to get hold of, simply by showing double D some love you'd be sent an email with a zip file containing the mixtape! Today, yet again Darwin delivers a treat to fans and has just posted up a link to this video of him and his band performing their hit single "Bad Day". Performed for Break Thru Radio back in December last year it was recorded at Dubway Studios in New York City. You can head over to the BTR site to listen to the entire show featuring a few other performances of singles and album tracks including "Radar Detector", "Up in the Clouds and "Constellations".

Check it out above and if you didn't get your hands on his mixtape which features a range of guest vocalists including Kool AD from Das Racist. Grab it while it's hot and be prepared to tip your hat to Darwin rapping and name dropping anyone and anything that has ever been cool. Slappeh de bass mon.