Entries in Grimace Federation (4)


Aesop Rock Announces LP #6 'Skelethon" To Release This July On Rhymesayers

Acerizzle aka Aesop Rock (not to be confused with A$AP Rocky) announced today that his 6th solo album Skelethon will be released on July 10th via indie hip hop giant, Rhymesayers. Skelethon marks the first solo LP in five years since Aesop's last album None Shall Pass was released in 07. The album features guest spots from Ace's Hail Mary Mallon Co-horts Rob Sonic & DJ Big Wiz, as well as wifey Allyson Baker of Dirty Ghosts, Hanni El Khatib, Grimace Federation, Nicky Fleming-Yaryan and his Uncluded partner in crime Kimya Dawson. The new album is 100% produced by Aesop Rock which is awesome as Aesop is coming into his own as a producer, but at the same time sad as we won't hear Aesop spit over any El-P or Blockhead beats this time around. Check out the album's full tracklist below.

1. Leisureforce
2. ZZZ Top
3. Cycles To Gehenna
4. Zero Dark Thirty
5. Fryerstarter
6. Ruby '81
7. Crows 1
8. Crows 2
9. Racing Stripes
10. 1,000 O'Clock
11. Homemade Mummy
12. Grace
13. Saturn Missiles
14. Tetra
15. Gopher Guts

It may be a minute before we get our first taste of Skelethon but this April we will get our first taste of Aesop's upcoming collaboration with singer/songwriter Kimya Dawson, The Uncluded, with Rhymesayers upcoming Record Store Day 2012 Picture Disc. The split 10"vinyl will feature brand new, exclusive and unreleased tracks from Atmosphere called "Someday Soon" and The Uncluded (Aesop Rock x Kimya Dawson) titled "Bats". This release RSD release is a limited run with only 2000 copies, so make sure you get your hands on one. Check out more music from Aesop Rock and Kimya Dawson from last year's Daytrotter Session.


[Download] Grimace Federation - The Key Studio Sessions, Jan. 12, 2011

It seems like it was just last month that Philly's Experimental/Psych/Jazz Rock band Grimace Federation released their latest EP On Velvet. Wait a sec. Thats because it was just last month (well techincally it was November, we wrote about it in December). The band recently stopped by XPN for a Key Studio Session, but not to perform tracks off their latest release, but to perform a set consisting of entirely new songs! The band stated that the recordings that make up On Velvet were approaching two years old, and another album’s worth of material was written in the downtime. Awesome. Check out the entire XPN set below.

Grimace Federation - The Key Studio Sessions, Jan. 12, 2011 by Some Kind of Awesome


[Listen] Grimace Federation - 'On Velvet' (Full Album)

Check out the amazing new release from Philadelphia Experimental/Psych/Jazz Rock band Grimace Federation titled On Velvet. Some of you may remember us posting the Aesop Rock remix of their track "Bosico" awhile back, well now you can check out the entire album which features the remix from Aes and another remix by Dose One below. I heard about these guys about 2 years back and they never cease to amaze me. We highly suggest if you enjoy this, pick it up by clicking the buy link below (hey its only $7) and then check out their previous releases, EP Zero and Tasted By Chemists, as well here. It's definitely good music to throw on to relax to or for social gatherings, especially for the holiday season.


[Watch & Download] Grimace Federation - "Bosico" x Remix (Butchered By Aesop Rock)

Philly instrumental/psych rock band Grimace Federation are getting ready to release a new EP titled On Velvet and you can preview their first single "Bosico" below. But on top of that, indie hip hop emcee Aesop Rock has dropped a remix for the single on his site 900bats.com along with a video which features Cage and artist Jeremy Fish. This isn't Aes's first time collaborating with Grimace Federation though, he also remixed and rapped on their debut LP Tasted by Chemists for the track "Catch 22." If you haven't had time to peep this awesome band, you should do so by checking out their page at the link above.

Grimace Federation - Bosico by Some Kind of Awesome