[News] Deerhunter Announces New Album, 'Monomania'

Deerhunter frontman Bradford Cox spoke to Rolling Stone last month, confirming that the band was working on a new album. The follow-up to 2010's excellent Halcyon Digest now has an official title, Monomania, and a firm release date, May 7th, and is the result of lengthy recording sessions at Rare Book Room Studio in Brooklyn. The band "stockpiled upward of 250 potential songs for the new disc" but have wittled that down to twelve, which Cox describes as "a very avant-garde rock & roll record".

We've yet to hear anything from the new record but the band seems confident, citing The Ramones, Ricky Nelson, Pierre Schaeffer, Steve Reich, and Bo Diddley as major influences. For now, all we can mull over is the tracklist for Monomania, which you can check out below.

Monomania Tracklist:
01. Neon Junkyard
02. Leather Jacket II
03. The Missing
04. Pensacola
05. Dream Captain
06. Blue Agent
07. T.H.M.
08. Sleepwalking
09. Back To The Middle
10. Monomania
11. Nitebike
12. Punk (La Vie Antérieure)