[News] RJD2 Announces New Album 'More Is Than Isn't'

Hell yes, RJD2 is back! The prominent producer has kept himself busy since releasing his fourth LP The Colossus back in 2010, but he has returned with the announcement of a proper follow-up. On October 8th, RJ will release More Is Than Isn't, his fifth studio album.

While the album does boast some impressive vocal talent—including Aaron Livingston, Phonte Coleman, Khari Mateen, Blueprint, P. Blackk, and STS—it is described as a departure for the producer. He states, "In ways, all of my previous albums were in some fashion striving to achieve something more than being just instrumental music. This is the first RJD2 album I’ve made that actually revels in a relative lack of vocals."

More Is Than Isn't will incorporate "new production techniques and approaches while still keeping an eye on the basic aesthetic that has always driven him: soulful, melodic, beat-oriented music." And, as a whole, the album will be "tied together by three instrumental pieces that are different explorations of the same harmonic theme. It captures a dynamic range not seen before on an RJD2 album, ranging from subdued jazz-tinged pieces to bombastic club music, and a lot of funk in between."

I for one cannot wait to hear what RJ has in store. Check out the tracklisting below and stay posted for more on this new LP.

More Is Than Isn’t Tracklist:
01. Suite 1
02. Temperamental (feat. Phonte Coleman)
03. Behold, Numbers!
04. Her Majesty’s Socialist Request
05. A Lot of Night Ahead of You
06. Bathwater (feat. P. Blackk)
07. Milk Tooth
08. Suite 2
09. Winter Isn’t Coming
10. See You Leave (feat. STS and Khari Mateen)
11. Got There, Sugar?
12. Love and Go (feat. Aaron Livingston)
13. Descended From Myth
14. Dirty Hands
15. It All Came To Me In A Dream (feat. Blueprint)
16. Suite 3