Posts tagged Atoms For Peace
[Listen] Atoms For Peace - "What The Eyeballs Did"

I just gazed down at the calendar to check the date and it's bloody November. NOVEMBER! I need some kind of mechanism to stop time intermittently to get things done. It'll be new years eve before I know it. With that being said, November means that Thom Yorke's other project Atoms For Peace are close to releasing their single "Default", November 19th to be precise. With the single comes this dance inducing B-Side called "What The Eyeballs Did".

It's going to be released via XL Recordings, you can pre-order it here after you take a listen to it below courtesy of SPIN.

[Listen] Atoms For Peace - "Default"
We've long awaited some official announcement regarding Thom Yorke's other project with Flea and Nigel Godrich, Atoms For Peace. It looks like we've now got an album to look forward to next year. On Radiohead's website Thom said:
"You may have heard that I have a new project called Atoms for Peace. The name comes from some shows of The Eraser that happened a couple of years ago with Mauro, Joey, Nigel and Flea. We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing. Immersed in the area between the two… electronic and live. The first tune we'd like you hear is Default. A 12" vinyl version will follow next month and an album will eventually follow that next year."

Along with the annoncement of an album set for 2013 a track titled "Default" has been previewed from the album. Listen to it below.

[News] Thom Yorke: Radiohead Touring in 2012 x Atoms For Peace Album Finished

During an interview last night on Gilles Peterson’s show on BBC Radio 1, Thom Yorke made a lot of Radiohead fans very, very happy. Having played a surprise set at Glastonbury this year many fans were left wanting more and it seems like those fans may have had their wish granted by the man with all the dance moves. Thom revealed that Radiohead will be touring in 2012 after figuring out how to actually play KoL live stating:

"The idea is to go out and play next year on and off during the year."

Additionally, Thom spoke about his his side-project Atoms For Peace which is made up of Flea, Nigel Godirch, Joey Waronker, and Mauro Refosco, and says the band have recorded an album and it's on the way. It's just being finished up by Godrich at the moment. 

So all in all a very good night for Radiohead and Thom Yorke fans alike. You can listen to the broadcast for the next 7 days on the BBC website. Hat tip to the Radiohead fan site Green Plastic.

[Watch] Atoms For Peace - "Feeling Pulled Apart by Horses" Live from Fuji Rock

Check out this pro shot video of the all star cast that is, Atoms For Peace. There's something eerily mystifying and surreal about Thom Yorke that I can't quite put my finger on.  Thumping Drums and a fat bass line to boot in this Live version of the track "Feeling Pulled Apart by Horses" which was first heard last year when Thom released it as a double A side with "The Hollow Earth" almost exactly a year to the day ago in fact. You may hit repeat a few times with this one as it's a bit hypnotic. The band features Flea from RHCP, Nigel Godrich who most recently did the score for one of the SKoA team's favourite films Scott Pilgrim vs The World as well as Mauro Refosco, and Joey Waronker. Together it's a pretty intense on stage presence! Should help tide you over until we see a full length from them, well if that is to happen before new Radiohead emerges.
[Tuesday Pickup] Atoms For Peace (Thom Yorke) - Live at the Fox Theater Oakland, CA 4/15/10

Happy New Music Tuesday people! Check out your favorite digital stores as well as record stores for some of the hottest new releases that came out today, mainly, Arcade Fire. But back to our regularly scheduled broadcast. Today we got an awesome pick up to get you through your day, week, month, year, and it comes from Radiohead's frontman Thom Yorke's supergroup Atoms For Peace.

For those who have been living underwater for the last couple of months (and are amazingly alive) Atoms For Peace consist of Thom Yorke, Flea, Nigel Godrich, Joey Waronker and Mauro Refosco. Today's pick up is an awesome record of their show at The Fox Theatre in Oakland, CA back on 4/15/2010. So without further delay, listen or download the set in the player below. Enjoy!

UPDATE: Uploaded the full track for "The Eraser" and reuploaded the zip file of the show (with the full version of "The Eraser") for those who aren't up to downloading it track for track on Soundcloud. Download

Atoms For Peace - 2010-04-15 - Oakland, CA - Fox Theater by Some Kind of Awesome

[Download] Thom Yorke - Live in Cambridge, UK 02/25/10

Props to Pretty Much Amazing for posting this awesome Live Bootleg of Thom Yorke's latest show in the UK. PMA let loose the full show along with the 3 new song Thom has performed live “The Daily Mail”,  “Give Up The Ghost” and “Mouse Dog Bird". If you haven't heard Thom has assembled some top artists for his current side tour with "Atoms For Peace". They are currently scheduled to play Coachella as well as some other venues (listed below). Check out this awesome show and make sure you attempt to grab some tickets to see Mr. Yorke live.

04/05 New York, NY – Roseland Ballroom *
04/06 New York, NY – Roseland Ballroom *
04.08 Boston, MA – Citi Wang Theatre *
04/10 Chicago, IL – Aragon Ballroom *
04/11 Chicago, IL – Aragon Ballroom *
04/14 Oakland, CA – Fox Theatre *
04/15 Oakland, CA – Fox Theatre *
04/17 Santa Barbara, CA – Santa Barbara Bowl *
04/18 Indio, CA – Coachella

* w/ Flying Lotus

Thom Yorke Live in Cambridge, UK 02/25/10 [216MB ZIP]

01. The Clock
02. The Eraser
03. Weird Fishes
04. The Daily Mail [NEW SONG]
05. Pyramid Song
06. Harrowdown Hill
07. Lotus Flower
08. Give Up The Ghost [NEW SONG]
09. These Are My Twisted Words
10. I Froze Up
11. Like Spinning Plates
12. Black Swan
13. Cymbal Rush
14. Videotape
15. Mouse Dog Bird [NEW SONG]
16. Reckoner
17. Airbag
18. Atoms For Peace
19. True Love Waits