Posts tagged Dave Sitek
[Album Stream] Listen to JJ Doom's 'Butter Edition' of 'Keys to the Kuffs', Including Remixes from Clams Casino, Thom Yorke and Beck

Refresher: JJ Doom = MF Doom and Jneiro Jarel. Last year, they released the fantastic Keys to the Kuffs, a collaboration that paired Doom's bizarre lyricism and Jarel's dark, outlandish production. Exactly one year later, on August 20th, Lex Records will be releasing the "Butter Edition" of the album, featuring reworked versions of tracks, new guest verses (including Del the Funky Homosapien) as well as remixes from the likes of Thom Yorke, Clams Casino, Beck and Dave Sitek. Stream the whole album below and pre-order it here.

[News] Yeah Yeah Yeahs Announce Fourth LP

Yeah Yeah Yeahs will return later this spring with a brand new album, their fourth studio LP and the follow-up to 2009's It's Blitz!. Titled Mosquito, the album was produced by TV on the Radio's Dave Sitek and will be released on April 16th. After squashing rumors that he was producing the whole of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' latest work, James Murphy will at least be producing one of the tracks on the upcoming release, which will feature Dr. Octagon (otherwise known as Kool Keith).

When speaking on the album with Pitchfork, frontwoman Karen O said:

We have this little shitty studio downtown [in New York] that belongs to us, so we wrote songs and recorded demos whenever we felt inspired; it was kind of like how we did Fever to Tell and our first demo. And emotionally, it’s been a rollercoaster– being back in New York is intense for me. I’ve gone through an identity crisis. It’s been very emotionally intense for Nick, too. He was going through a break-up while we were making the album. It was just all kind of down."

Below, you can watch footage of the band debuting material from Mosquito during performances this past weekend. As well, the artwork for the album is pictured above, with the crazy visual feast being a creation of animator Beomsik Shimbe Shim.

[News] Dave Sitek Forms New Label, Releases Trent Reznor Remix

TV on the Radio's Dave Sitek has seen a great deal of success within the band, but outside of it as well. His Maximum Ballon side project was one of the most refreshing albums of 2010, and now the producer is venturing into the label side of things. Sitek has announced the formation of his new label, Federal Prism, and the inaugural release is a big one. Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, and fellow Nine Inch Nails bandmate Allesandro Cortini have come together to remix Telepathe's "Destroyer", which will be released as a 12" vinyl. Stream the remix below, and head here to pre-order the vinyl.

[Listen] Florence & The Machine - "No Light, No Light" (Dave Sitek Remix)

After having remixed MF DOOM's "Rhymin' Slang" just last week, Dave Sitek, of TV On The Radio and Maximum Balloon, is at it again, and this time around he's remixed Florence & The Machine's "No Light, No Light." The song, which was one of twelve featured on Florence & The Machine's recently released sophomore album Ceremonials, will be released as a 12" single on January 16th, and Mr. Sitek's remix will accompany it as a b-side. The remix does change the song, however, slightly sacrificing the sombre mood of the original in order to make the song more danceable. Despite that, though, the two songs will make for an excellent single, so check out the remix below, courtesy of a premiere at FactMag.

No Light, No Light (Dave Sitek Remix) by avatarguille

[Listen] JJ DOOM (Jneiro Jarel & DOOM) - "Rhymin’ Slang" (Dave Sitek Remix)

In early 2012, Complex Vol. 1, a compilation marking the ten year anniversary of Lex Records, will be released, featuring ten exclusive tracks from artists such as Jneiro Jarel, DOOM and Thom Yorke/Jonny Greenwood, Neon Neon, and Boom Bip. The latest addition to the anniversary compilation is a remix of a brand new DOOM track titled "Rhymin' Slang." The remix was done by none other than Dave Sitek, of Maximum Balloon and TV on the Radio fame, and was originally produced by Jneiro Jarel. You can listen to the remix below. Complex Vol. 1 drops in early 2012, so make sure to head over to Lex Records' official website to preorder today, where you can also purchase individual MP3's of five of the compilation's tracks.

JJ DOOM 'RHYMIN SLANG' (Dave Sitek Remix) - PREVIEW EDIT by LexRecords

[Watch & Listen] Skylar Grey Performs First Live Show, Releasing "Dance Without You" Remixes, Hear Dave Sitek Remix

Newest pop sensation Skylar Grey performed her first show (under the Skylar monkier) at The Rickshaw Stop in San Francisco and debuted new songs from her upcoming debut album Invinsible (yes, that is spelled correctly). Check out two of her newest tunes, which I had the pleasure of getting a preview of earlier this week "Building A Monster" & "Beautiful Nightmare" in the player above, as well as the rest of her set including a performance of her latest single "Invisible", the upcoming Marilyn Manson collab "Can't Haunt Me" and an amazing piano medly of chart topping guest features ("Coming Home", "Words I Never Said", "I Need A Doctor" & "Love The Way You Lie Pt. 2") after the jump, courtesy of Skylar Grey News.

But that isn't all folks, on August 9th, Interscope will be releasing Skylar's first official single "Invinsible" on iTunes along side a remix single for the "street" single "Dance Without You" which features remixes by R3hab, Monsta, Alvin Risk and TV on The Radio/Maximum Balloon's Dave Sitek. Take a listen to Dave Sitek remix of the track below and you can also check out the full tracklisting after the jump and hear the rest of the remixes at Skylar Grey News.

"Dance Without You" (David Andrew Sitek Remix)



"Can’t Haunt Me"/"Zombie" (The Cranberries Cover) & Guest Feature Medley ("Coming Home", "Words I Never Said", "I Need A Doctor" & "Love The Way You Lie Pt. 2")

01/ Dance Without You (Alvin Risk Remix) – 5:10
02/ Dance Without You (David Andrew Sitek Remix) – 3:11
03/ Dance Without You (Skylar Grey Vs Monsta) – 5:36
04/ Dance Without You (R3hab Remix) – 5:22

[Download] Theophilus London - "Field of Dreams" (Prod. By TVOTR's Dave Sitek)

The dynamic duo of TV on the Radio guitarist/Maximum Balloon producer Dave Sitek and indie rapper/singer Theophilus return with a brand new track titled "Field of Dreams." Much like the duo's previous collaborations "Groove Me" from the Maximum Balloon self titled debut and "Wine + Chocolate" from last year's EP from TL, A Lovers Holiday, "Field of Dreams" carries that signiture electronic dance sound with London dropping his melodic rhymes.

The track was cut from London's upcoming LP Timez Are Weird These Days but according to Pigeons and Planes, the track may appear on London's upcoming mixtape Prince TL dropping this fall. Timez Are Weird These Days is set to drop in 2 weeks on July 19th, check out the first single "Last Name London" out here.