Posts tagged Erykah Badu
[Listen] Flying Lotus feat. Erykah Badu - "See Thru To U"

Flying Lotus has been killing it with his collaborations as of late, delivering one of the best listens of the summer with "Between Dreams". If this summer has proved anything, it's that FlyLo is infinitely expanding his creativty and experimentation. "See Thru To U" is a perfect example of this. The cut features Erykah Badu, and sees the two exploring a sprawling, African-inspired soundscape, rife with rhythmic drumming and simplistic, groovy basslines. If this is what we can expect from the rest of FlyLo's forthcoming LP Until The Quiet Comes, then we've got a definite contender for one of the year's best albums. Stream it below.

Until The Quiet Comes is out on October 2nd via Warp.

[News] Flying Lotus Details 'Until The Quiet Comes'

Flying Lotus' 2010 LP Cosmogramma marked a moment in the artist's career where he transcended his conventional peers and the established genres, hitting a whole new level of experimentation and creativity. His fourth LP, Until The Quiet Comes, could take that even further. Set for release on October 2nd via Warp, FlyLo's newest effort boasts some impressive talent, including guest appearances from Erykah Badu, Thundercat, Laura Darlington, Niki Randa, and the previously reported Thom Yorke. The 18-track effort should be nothing less than impressive. Check out the full tracklist as well as Flying Lotus' fall tour dates after the jump, and peep the official album art above.

Until The Quiet Comes Tracklist:
01 “All In”
02 “Getting There” (feat. Niki Randa)
03 “Until The Colours Come”
04 “Heave(n)”
05 “Tiny Tortures”
06 “All The Secrets”
07 “Sultans Request.”
08 “Putty Boy Strut”
09 “See Thru To U” (feat. Erykah Badu)
10 “Until The Quiet Comes”
11 “DMT Song” (feat. Thundercat)
12 “The Nightcaller”
13 “Only If You Wanna”
14 “Electric Candyman” (feat. Thom Yorke)
15 “Hunger “(feat. Niki Randa)
16 “Phantasm” (feat. Laura Darlington)
17 “me Yesterday//Corded”
18 “Dream to Me”

Flying Lotus 2012 Tour Dates:
09/23 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl *
10/07 – New York, NY @ Terminal 5
10/15 – Toronto, ON @ The Hoxton
10/16 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
10/18 – Denver, CO @ Odgen
10/19 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
10/22 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune
10/23 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune
10/25 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theatre
11/03 – London, UK @ Brixton Academy
11/04 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
11/05 – Leipzig, DE @ Conne Island
11/06 – Paris, FR @ La Machine du Moulin Rouge
11/07 – Fribourg, CH @ Fri-Son
11/08 – Berlin, DE @ Gretchen
11/09 – Manchester, UK @ Warehouse Project

* = w/ Animal Collective

[Watch] The Flaming Lips & Erykah Badu – "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" (NSFW)

The Flaming Lips' Record Store Day epic The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends featured a great collaborative effort with Erykah Badu titled "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face," and today they've put forth the NSFW visuals for the track. The George Salisbury-directed clip features Badu's sister Nayrok naked and covered in blood and glitter. Watch it above.

The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends will be re-released digitally and on CD on June 26th via Warner Bros. Records.

UPDATE: The video has been taken down temporarily.

[Listen] Rocket Juice and the Moon feat. Erykah Badu - "Hey Shooter"

Rocket Juice and the Moon, the new project comprised of Gorillaz/Blur mastermind Damon Albarn, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea and Fela Kuti drummer Tony Allen, are set to release their debut self-titled album on March 26th in the UK and Europe and the 27th in North America, and today, courtesy of Pitchfork, we have a brand new cut from the upcoming album. The song, titled "Hey Shooter," features guest vocals from Erykah Badu, who is one of many artists to be featured on the 18-track effort. Other notable acts set to appear on the album include Malian musician Fatoumata Diawara, West African rapper M.Anifest and the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble. Head over to Pitchfork to stream the track, and take a look at the album's tracklisting after the jump.

Rocket Juice and the Moon is out on March 26th via Albarn's own Honest Jon label.

Rocket Juice and the Moon Tracklist:
01. 1-2-3-4-5-6
02. Hey, Shooter
03. Lolo
04. Night Watch
05. Forward Sweep
06. Follow-Fashion
07. Chop Up
08. Poison
09. Extinguished
10. Rotary Connection
11. Check Out
12. There
13. Worries
14. Benko
15. The Unfadable
16. DAM(N)
17. Fatherless
18. Leave-Taking

[Watch] Erykah Badu x Mark Ronson - "A La Modeliste" Live on Letterman

We've talked plenty about the RE:GENERATION project in the past 6 or so months and last night a hell of a lot more people were made to get familiar. Erykah Badu paid a visit to the Late Show with David Letterman to put in a performance of her Mark Ronson featuring track "A La Modeliste". As we've seen previously in the official video the track also features Mos Def, Trombone Shorty and Zigaboo Modeliste. See the talents clash in a culmination of live music at the top.

[Listen] The Flaming Lips - "Now I Understand" Feat. Erykah Badu, Biz Markie and Siri

After teasing fans with a few short seconds of teh Bon Iver featuring Flaming Lips track,a full track has hit the web and this one features Erykah Badu, Biz Markie and everyone's virtual best friend, Siri. Regarding the track Wayne Coyne says:

Sound construction piece featuring Lips, Erykah Badu, Siri, and Biz Markie backwards. It’s called ‘Now I Understand’ It’s funny and will be available on SoundCloud for one week only!!! Life is beautiful. Music gets you high.

Music does get you high along with whatever else Wayne fancies putting into his body on any given day. This is a Lips track through and through. Wacky yet lovable. Check out "Now I Understand" below via CoS/Psych Explorations of the Future Heart

[Watch] Mark Ronson - "A La Modeliste" Feat. Mos Def & Erykah Badu

Remember Hyundai's RE:GENERATION project from last year? The ball is still rolling and a visual featuring Mark Ronson, Mos Def and Erykah Badu has hit the web. It sees them in the studio performing a track titled "A La Modeliste". It features assistance from Trombone Shorty, Zigaboo Modeliste along with members of The Dap Kings. Give the blues ridden track a watch/listen at the top and look out for more visuals in the coming months from the likes of DJ Premier, Skrillex and more.