[News] Cat Power Announces New Album: 'Sun'

Today saw Twitter explode with the trending topic of Cat Power, who, after a long absence, returned today with the announcement of a new album. On September 4th, Chan Marshall, aka Cat Power, will release her ninth studio album Sun, her first full-length release of original material in over six years. The album saw Chan recording in various locations across the glove, a process that was heavily influenced by her breakup with longtime boyfriend and actor Giovanni Ribisi. When speaking to The Stool Pigeon earlier this month, she said, "I cut my hair off three days [after the break-up], got on a plane to France and finished the shit. It’s all good, you know. I love the person very much. I actually love this record very much, too. I’m very proud of it."

The announcement also came with a fantastic preview in the form of the track "Ruin," which sees Chan channeling her heartbreak in an unexpected way. The song is upbeat, with a piano hook that is catchy and hopeful despite the solemn lyrically content. Check out the song, which is paired with an announcement video, after the jump, along with the tracklisting for Sun.

Sun Tracklist:
01. Cherokee
02. Sun
03. Ruin
04. 3,6,9
05. Always on My Own
06. Real Life
07. Human Being
08. Manhattan
09. Silent Machine
10. Nothin But Time
11. Peace and Love