Posts tagged patti smith
[Listen] First Aid Kit - "Dancing Barefoot" (Patti Smith Cover)

Following up the Beyoncé cover we saw heard from Sleigh Bells earlier, First Aid Kit have also offered up a cover song whilst visiting a radio station. Must be the Spring air fast approaching. As TwentyFourBit points out the Swedish duo visited French Radio station Le Mouv and laid down their interpretation of Patti Smith's 1979 track, "Dancing Barefoot". These two never cease to amaze me and bring a little shiver to my spine with their soaring vocals and harmonies. Beautiful stuff.

[News] Bob Dylan Tribute Album: 'Chimes of Freedom' Tracklist Feat. QOTSA, My Morning Jacket, Pete Townshend & More

In celebration of Amnesty International's 50th Anniversary, a collection of Bob Dylan covers has been put together and is set for release in January on the 24th to be precise. The full tracklist has appeared and it's frikkin' crazy! Like good crazy and absurd crazy, you know?! It'll be a 72 track monster compiling 4 discs and a host of talent from the world of music. It also throws a few weird number sin but hey, you gotta take the good with the bad. 

Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan Honoring 50 Years of Amnesty International will include covers from the likes of Queens of the Stone Age who take on "Outlaw Blues" from 1965's Bringing It All Back Home. My Morning Jacket tackle "You’re A Big Girl Now", Mariachi El Bronx add their fine acoustic goodness to "Love Sick". The Who’s Pete Townshend tackles the crooner number "Corrina, Corrina" and Cage the Elephant do "The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll". Now, thrown into the mix we have Miley Cyrus covering Blood on the Tracks' "You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go". The one I really don't want to see covered in glitter and crap is "Don't Think Twice it's Alright" but that's been taken up by none other than Ke$ha. KE$SHA!? But still, this compilation will definitely be worth a listen. The full track listing of pure awesome can be found after the jump via CoS.


Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan Honoring 50 Years of Amnesty International Tracklist:
Disc 1
01. Raphael Saadiq – Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
02. Patti Smith – Drifter’s Escape
03. Rise Against – Ballad of Hollis Brown
04. Tom Morello The Nightwatchman – Blind Willie McTell
05. Pete Townshend – Corrina, Corrina
06. Bettye LaVette – Most of the Time
07. Charlie Winston – This Wheel’s On Fire
08. Diana Krall – Simple Twist of Fate
09. Brett Dennen – You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
10. Mariachi El Bronx – Love Sick
11. Ziggy Marley – Blowin’ in the Wind
12. The Gaslight Anthem – Changing of the Guards
13. Silversun Pickups – Not Dark Yet
14. My Morning Jacket – You’re A Big Girl Now
15. The Airborne Toxic Event – Boots of Spanish Leather
16. Sting – Girl from the North Country
17. Mark Knopfler – Restless Farewell

Disc 2
01. Queens Of The Stone Age – Outlaw Blues
02. Lenny Kravitz – Rainy Day Woman # 12 & 35
03. Steve Earle & Lucia Micarelli – One More Cup of Coffee (Valley Below)
04. Blake Mills – Heart Of Mine
05. Miley Cyrus – You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
06. Billy Bragg – Lay Down Your Weary Tune
07. Elvis Costello – License to Kill
08. Angelique Kidjo – Lay, Lady, Lay
09. Natasha Bedingfield – Ring Them Bells
10. Jackson Browne – Love Minus Zero/No Limit
11. Joan Baez – Seven Curses (Live)
12. The Belle Brigade – No Time To Think
13. Sugarland – Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You (Live)
14. Jack’s Mannequin – Mr. Tambourine Man
15. Oren Lavie – 4th Time Around
16. Sussan Deyhim – All I Really Want To Do
17. Adele – Make You Feel My Love (Recorded Live at WXPN)

Disc 3
01. K’NAAN – With God On Our Side
02. Ximena Sariñana – I Want You
03. Neil Finn with Pajama Club – She Belongs to Me
04. Bryan Ferry – Bob Dylan’s Dream
05. Zee Avi – Tomorrow Is A Long Time
06. Carly Simon – Just Like a Woman
07. Flogging Molly – The Times They Are A-Changin’
08. Fistful Of Mercy – Buckets Of Rain
09. Joe Perry – Man Of Peace
10. Bad Religion – It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
11. My Chemical Romance – Desolation Row (Live)
12. RedOne featuring Nabil Khayat – Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door
13. Paul Rodgers & Nils Lofgren – Abandoned Love
14. Darren Criss featuring Chuck Criss and Freelance Whales – New Morning
15. Cage the Elephant – The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll
16. Band of Skulls – It Ain’t Me, Babe
17. Sinéad O’Connor – Property of Jesus
18. Ed Roland and The Sweet Tea Project – Shelter From The Storm
19. Ke$ha – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
20. Kronos Quartet – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

Disc 4
01. Maroon 5 – I Shall Be Released
02. Carolina Chocolate Drops – Political World
03. Seal & Jeff Beck – Like A Rolling Stone
04. Taj Mahal – Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream
05. Dierks Bentley – Senor (Tales of Yankee Power) (Live)
06. Mick Hucknall – One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)
07. Thea Gilmore – I’ll Remember You
08. State Radio – John Brown
09. Dave Matthews Band – All Along the Watchtower (Live)
10. Michael Franti – Subterranean Homesick Blues
11. We Are Augustines – Mama, You Been On My Mind
12. Lucinda Williams – Tryin’ To Get To Heaven
13. Kris Kristofferson – Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
14. Eric Burdon – Gotta Serve Somebody
15. Evan Rachel Wood – I’d Have You Anytime
16. Marianne Faithfull – Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Live)
17. Pete Seeger – Forever Young
18. Bob Dylan – Chimes Of Freedom

[News] Jack White, Depeche Mode, Patti Smith & Damien Rice Contribute To U2 Covers Album

Soon, U2's Achtung Baby album will turn 20 years of age. To celebrate, Q Magazine has put together a covers album which will contain covers from some of  the music worlds biggest talents. The talented man that is Jack White is set to cover “Love Is Blindness”, Damien Rice will tackle "One", Depeche Mode will cover “So Cruel” and Patti Smith takes on “Until the End of the World”. News broke yesterday (via Rolling Stone) as Bono was Speaking at the Toronto International Film Festival.

Why was Bono at the Toronto International Film Festival I hear you ask, well, U2 are premiering a new Davis Guggenheim-directed film about the band titled From the Sky Down. No concrete news as to when the album will see the light of day but the good folks over at Slicing Up Eyeballs have suggested that it could be released when the 20 Years of Achtung Baby Box Set hits stores which for us in the UK is on October 31st (Nov 1st for the US). When a date arrives we'll let you know for certain.

Jack White's Wife To Release Solo Album

JackWhiteJackWhiteJackWhiteJackWhiteJackWhiteJackWhiteJackWhiteJackWhite. We get it, Jack, You're up to a lot these days. Sheesh. 

But isn't that why we love him? 

NME is reporting that the one of the luckiest ladies in the universe, Jack White's wife Karen Elson, has announced details of her debut solo album, dropping May 27, courtesy of hubby's label Third Man Records.

Stating true to Jack White form of creepiness (see exhibits A and B that we should not speak of, love us Warner Bros!), the album will be titled The Ghost Who Walks.

Per NME's report:

"Elson is said to have written much of the record from inside a closet in her and White's Nashville bedroom."

Her studio band lineup was quite the dream team, too. Jack Lawrence (The Dead Weather) on bass, Carl Broemel (My Morning Jacket) on pedal steel, Rachelle Garniez on accordion and vocals and Patti Smith's son, Jackson Smith (who is actually her bro-in-law), on guitar.

I am so coveting her life right now. 

Be sure to check out the video above for a live acoustic version of the title track, "The Ghost Who Walks". We've also ripped the audio for you so that you don't have to sit on YouTube All day. 

Karen Elson - "The Ghost Who Walks (Live Acoustic)"

Tracklisting is after the jump!

'The Ghost Who Walks'
'The Truth Is The Dirt'
'Pretty Babies'
'100 Years From Now'
'Stolen Roses'
'Cruel Summer'
'The Birds They Circle'
'A Thief At My Door'
'The Last Laugh'
'Mouths To Feed'