Posts tagged Talib Kweli
[News] Full Tracklist for RZA's 'The Man With the Iron Fists' Revealed

RZA's upcoming directorial debut The Man With the Iron Fists is easily one of my most anticipated movies of the year (and no doubt Rocko's too), and how could it not be? It's all kinds of Wu-Tang Clan Shaolin love, mixed with awesome stunts, tons of gore, and a killer cast. Turns out the soundtrack is pretty damn amazing, as well. The full tracklist for the official movie soundtrack has been revealed, and it looks to be one of the most stacked movie soundtracks in a long time. Kanye West? Check. The Black Keys? Check. A Pusha T and Raekwon collab? Check. Talib Kweli, Ghostface Killah, Freddie Gibbs, Method Man, and the rest of the Wu-Tang Clan? Check, check, check, fucking check.

For your first taste of the soundtrack, stream Method Man and Freddie Gibbs' collaborative track "Built For This" below, along with the full tracklist for The Man With the Iron Fists Soundtrack, which drops on October 23rd via Soul Temple/STAX/Red. The film hits theatres on November 2nd.

The Man With the Iron Fists Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. The Black Keys & RZA – “The Baddest Man Alive”
02. Ghostface Killah, M.O.P & Pharoahe Monch – “Black Out”
03. Kanye West – “White Dress”
04. The Revelations feat. Tre Williams – “I Forgot To Be Your Lover”
05. Talib Kweli & RES – “Get Your Way (Sex as a Weapon)”
06. Raekwon, Ghostface Killah & Kool G. Rap – “Rivers of Blood”
07. Method Man, Freddie Gibbs & StreetLife – “Built for This”
08. 24 Carat Black – “Poverty’s Paradise”
09. Killa Sin – “The Archer”
10. RZA & Flatbush Zombies – “Just Blowin’ In The Wind”
12. Corrine Bailey Rae – “Chains”
13. Pusha T & Raekwon – “Tick Tock”
14. Frances Yip – “Green is the Mountain”
15. The Wu-Tang Clan – “Six Directions of Boxing”
16. Mabel John – “Your Good Thing Is About To End”

[Watch] Black Star - "You Already Knew" x "Little Brother" Live on Fallon

Ohhhh yeah, last night Jimmy Fallon set the bar high for the rest of the year with a visit from Black Star aka the pairing of Mos Def and Talib Kweli. Performing alongside The Roots they put in performances of two tracks from their Aretha Franklin inspired mixtape. For the masses watching at home they performed "You Already Knew" whilst J-Fal also upped a web exclusive performance of "Little Brother". Give the Former a look at the top whilst the web exclusive performance is viewable after the jump. Many thanks to the ever trusty Audio Perv for the video support.

[Listen] Black Star - "You Already Knew"

After debuting their first single "Fix Up" on The Colbert Report last month, Black Star, aka Talib Kweli and Yasiin "Mos Def" Bey, gave fans a double dose of music last Friday. After revealing that they will be putting out an Aretha Franklin-inspired mixtape, the duo released "Fix Up" digitally via iTunes this past Friday, along with another brand new track from the upcoming mixtape. The track, titled "You Already Knew," was produced by OhNo, and is available for your listening pleasure below or for download at the cost of your email address here.

No news yet on when the mixtape will be released, but expect more information to surface in the coming months.

UPDATE: Courtesy of Stereogum, we now have a stream of "Fix Up" available for your listening pleasure below.

Black Star "Fix Up" by 3DDistro

Black Star "You Already Knew" by 3DDistro

[News] The Black Keys, The Cool Kids, Wiz Khalifa, Curren$y & More Ready Blakroc 2

Late last night as I began to wind down into a slumber Rocko pops up online with a link to a video. That video was the very one you see above showing a host of talent in a studio smoking what seems to be a lot of herbal medicine. In short, The Black Keys are readying Blakroc 2, their collaboration album with a bunch of contributors from all corners of hip-hop. The Cool Kids, Talib Kweli, Curren$y, Wiz Khalifa, U God,  Jay Electronica, OC, Sean Price and Jim Jones are all set to feature on the release. I have a feeling this release is going to be a good one, just an inkling. Dan's guitar tone makes me swoon like a teen girl for Justin Bieber. Seriously check it out in the video and get excited. Although, maybe hold back a little on the excitement for a moment as the video just says "Coming Soon" as oppose to a concrete release date. Whatever, I'm now excited now and a very happy man. 

[Listen] DJ Shadow - "Stay The Course" Feat. Posdnuos (of De La Soul) & Talib Kweli

On September 27th, DJ/Producer Josh Davis bka DJ Shadow makes his triumphant return with his upcoming fourth record The Less You Know, The Better. which will feature collaborations from Talib Kweli, De La Soul's Posdnuos, Little Dragon, Afrikan Boy, and Tom Vek. We got our first taste of the new record with the track "I've Been Trying" which was released alongside the non-album cut "Def Surrounds Us" and both were later released on the EP for the album's official first single, the beat heavy "I Gotta Rokk".

Shadow later revealed his next single from the new album, the afropunk, electronic jam "I'm Excited" featuring Afrikan Boy which was later released as an EP in the UK which included 3 additional B-Sides including the UNKLE-ish track "Come On Riding (Through The Cosmos)." Earlier today, Shadow premiered another new album cut when he guested on the Andy Rourke's Jetlag show on East Village Radio titled "Stay The Course" which featured Plug One aka Posdnuos of De La Soul and Talib Kweli. If you missed out on the broadcast and are lazy to sift through the archives on the EVR site, you can check out the new tune in the player below.

Check out the album's full tracklisting after the jump as well as Shadow's recent interview with Pitchfork here. Also, make sure you check out Shadow on his latest tour, which still has a few US dates left before he heads back overseas to Europe, Thailand, China and Japan. Tour dates are available here and hell, maybe if you are lucky you can get your hands on one of these goodies that Shadow gave out to fans who order tickets to his special show in Melbourne, Australia last month. Bastards.

Anyways, enjoy the new track. We certainly are, as well as the other album tracks that have surfaced thus far. Shadow's back.

1. Back To Front (Circular Logic)
2. Border Crossing
3. Stay The Course 
4. I've Been Trying Feat. Posdnuos (of De La Soul) & Talib Kweli
5. Sad And Lonely
6. Warning Call Feat. Tom Vek
7. Tedium
8. Enemy Lines
9. Going Nowhere
10. Redeemed
11. Run For Your Life
12. Give Me Back The Nights
13. I'm Excited Feat. Afrikan Boy
14. I Gotta Rokk
15. Scale It Back Feat. Yukimi Nagano (of Little Dragon)
16. Circular Logic (Front To Back)
17. (Not So) Sad And Lonely